What are Chakras?

What are Chakras?

The word Chakras comes from Sanskrit and means ‘wheels’ or ‘disks’.
According to Eastern religions, such as Hinduism and Buddhism, they are centers of energy that govern our physical, intellectual, emotional and spiritual stability.

They are the subtle energy bodies that work hand in hand with our internal organs and physical bodies to create harmony and balance.
Chakras provide a bridge or platform to connect our physical and sensory perceptions to our emotional bodies and the emotional to the spiritual world.

The oldest record of the chakras comes from the Vedas, the sacred scriptures of Hinduism, which emerged in the 2nd century BC. However, this belief became so popular that it surpassed the barriers of Hindu culture, reaching many others, including Western ones. 

According to Hindus, the chakras meet and merge in the Nadis, which are invisible paths within our organism, functioning as conduit channels through which our vital energy circulates.

Each chakra influences one or more specific areas of our personality and health. Some passages in the Vedas say that there are 32 chakras, and others up to 88,000, but most agree on the existence of the main seven, which run through our entire spine.

Before defining what the Seven Chakras are and the meaning of each of them, it is very important to understand one thing: You are energy and everything that is alive is composed of energy.

Whenever a Chakra is blocked, low on energy or hyperactive, it can cause imbalances in the physical, emotional, mental and even our spiritual side.

For example, if you experience constant difficulty in expressing yourself or have suffered from several attacks of laryngitis, you may have an imbalance in your throat chakra.

In fact, all physical, emotional and spiritual problems can be treated by harmonizing the corresponding Chakras.

In these next 8 weeks, I will be sharing with you a journey through our 7 Solaris ‘Be better’ Chakra teas. We co-created these gorgeous teas with our good friend Kerstin Linnartz, a talented and experienced Yogini who has been practising and teaching yoga in Germany and around the world for over 20 years now to help you balance your Chakras and improve your quality of life. 

We hope by knowing a bit more about each chakra you might be able to identify which one is imbalanced within yourself and work in order to harmonize it. 

1- The Root Chakra

2- The Sacral Chakra

3- The Solar Plexus Chakra

4- The Heart Chakra

5- The Throat Chakra

6- The Third Eye Chakra

7- The Crown Chakra

Warm Wishes.

Karin Muller

Karin Mueller is co-owner of Solaris tea and has been working in the field of wellness and health for over 20 years now. She is a Medical Herbalist (BSc Hons), practising Midwife (BSc Hons), Massage and Spa therapist and experienced course facilitator and teacher on a wide range of topics related to mindfulness, meditation and women’s health. She is currently also studying in the ‘Medicine of Light’ school to deepen her spiritual practise.

←  Back to Lifestyle